The Priory Church of St Mary and the Holy Cross,


Parish & Community Building & History Other Churches in the Group

Incumbents since the Dissolution

1542 Thomas Blithe S.T.B. by Thomas Paston of the Privy Chamber of the king.
1546 Thomas Silverside by Thomas Paston of the Privy Chamber of the king.
  Christopher Nuttell deprived in 1555 for being married
1555 William Powle by the Bishop.
1559 Christopher Nuttell restored in 1559; became also rector of Salthouse 1560-1589
1592 Ralph Same by Edward Paston, Esq.
1603 Richard Baldwin by Edward Paston, Esq.
1628 Richard Slynn by Robert Fieden, assignee of Sir Henry Compton Knt.
1662 Edmund Wyth
1704 John Wells curate and sequestrator
1750 Samuel Hemington Vicar, by the King
1783 Edward Tilson
1787 George Boldero
1822 William Upjohn
1856 Arthur Gilbert
1865 Robert Corry Cavell
1907 George F Sharland
1911 L R Moore
1916 Gilbert F Hill
1921 F A Hannam
1928 John L Davies
1935 C F H Carroll
1964 Anthony C Footit
1972 W Paul Watkins
1973 M Godfrey Farnworth
1984 Llewelyn R Fawcett
1991 Robert C Wright
1997 John Penny
2005 Joanna Anderson
2009 Ian Whittle